Miami-Dade County, spanning over 2,000 square miles, is positioned at the southeastern tip of the Florida peninsula. It is bordered by Biscayne Bay and the Atlantic Ocean to the east, Everglades National Park to the west, the Florida Keys to the south, and Broward County to the north.


Miami-Dade County, the most populous county in Florida, encompasses 34 incorporated municipalities, cities, towns, and villages, along with unincorporated communities and neighborhoods.

Short History of Miami

Miami-Dade County, originally named Dade County, was founded on January 18, 1836, in honor of Major Francis L. Dade, a soldier who lost his life in the Second Seminole War in 1835. The modern era for the county commenced in 1896 with the advent of Henry Flagler’s railroad. The 1920s witnessed a real estate boom that transformed the area, leading to the construction of new subdivisions and tourist resorts. The City of Miami experienced such rapid growth from one winter season to the next that visitors marveled at its speed, hence earning it the moniker “Magic City.”

Population statistics

Miami-Dade County in Florida has an estimated population of 2,700,678 as of 2024, reflecting a growth rate of 0.51% over the past year based on the latest United States census data. It stands as the largest county in Florida.

According to worldpopulationreview